Hot Fudge Sundae Cake

I LOVE Hot Fudge Cakes!  It’s basically like a brownie with warm, gooey hot fudge oozing out of it.  It’s a delicious mess.

Zack shares my love for them, so I decided to give making one a try.  When it is still in the pan, it looks like regular brownies.  Then you cut into it and realize the whole underneath part is hot fudge.

I put a scoop of ice cream on top of Zack’s as you can see above, but I just ate mine place (thanks, lactose intolerance!).  Seriously, though, it was AMAZING plain.

It says nine servings, but good luck getting 9 servings out of it!  I think Zack and I ate the whole thing in about 2 days.  Oink.

Hot Fudge Sundae Cake

Prep: 20 minutes.  Bake 40 minutes.  Cool 10 minutes.  9 servings.

– 1 c AP flour

– 3/4  granulated sugar

– 2 T baking cocoa

– 2 t baking powder

– 1/4 t salt

– 1/2 c milk

– 2 T vegetable oil

– 1 t vanilla

– 1 c chopped nuts, if desired

– 1 c packed brown sugar

– 1/4 c baking cocoa

– 1 3/4 c very hot water

– ice cream, if desired

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour, granulated sugar, 2 T cocoa, the baking powder, and salt in ungreased square pan 8x8x2 inches.  Mix in milk, oil, and vanilla with fork until smooth.  Stir in nuts.  Spread in pan.

Sprinkle brown sugar and 1/4 c cocoa over batter.  Pour water evenly over batter.  Bake at 40 minutes or until top is dry.  Cool 10 minutes.

Spoon warm cake into dessert dishes.  Top with ice cream.  Spoon sauce from pan onto each serving.

7 thoughts on “Hot Fudge Sundae Cake

  1. This is one of those classic desserts that are so easy I should be making it way more often than IO do. thanks for make me remember that hehe. Excuse me while I go peruse my ingredients 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness this sounds like heavenly deliciousness!! This would be fantastic with a nice heaping scoop of ice cream! Speaking of which, since you’re lactose intollerant (like me) have you ever tried the Lactaid Vanilla Bean Ice Cream? It’s pretty amazing, my boyfriend, who isn’t lactose intollerant actually ate most of the carton but from what I was able to get out of his death clutch was delicious. You should try it out if you haven’t yet.

    • No, I haven’t tried that ice cream! Thanks for letting me know about it – there’s something so comforting about having a big scoop of ice cream sometimes (especially if it doesn’t make you sick! haha)

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

