Beer Bread Mix

This Christmas I wanted to give out as many homemade gifts as possible.  I like the idea of giving mixes as gifts, because it’s still homemade, but the recipient can bake it at their leisure, because everyone is typically in a food coma throughout the holidays.

Homemade gifts tend to be less expensive than store bought gifts, but mean so much more (to me anyways).

I made this and gave it to one of Zack’s coworkers.  She is a really sweet person, so I wanted to give her a little something.

I was really pleased with the way the packaging turned out.  I think it was a cute little gift.

Beer Bread Mix

– 2 1/2 c self-rising flour

– 1/2 c all purpose flour

– 1/4 c brown sugar

– 1 t baking powder

– 1/2 t salt

– 1/2 t onion powder

– 3/4 t Italian seasoning

Layer all ingredients into a quart jar.

Attach this tag to the jar:  You will need: 1 12-fl oz can beer and 1/4 c butter or margarine, melted.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan.  In a bowl, mix dry ingredients.  Pour in beer and mix just until moistened.  Transfer to prepared baking pan.  Top with melted butter.  Bake 45-55 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

5 thoughts on “Beer Bread Mix

  1. I agree, I always enjoy homemade gifts because usually they are made with you in mind instead of buying a generic thing from bath & Body Works. My brother made me a clock out of a cookbook for Christmas!

  2. What a fun gift! I am already making a list (and file) of homemade gifts to make for next year. Of course, I have grandiose ideas about starting this project mid-October 2012. 🙂 (In reality, I know I will be scrambling December 23 and 24!!!!!)

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

