Christmas Cookies :)

I feel like I have really let my blog go lately and I feel pretty guilty.  I do have a couple of excuses, though.  First of all, Christmas was nothing short of a madhouse.  Zack and I had to do 5 Christmases.  We had my step-grandma’s Christmas dinner at a ritzy hotel in Roanoke, Christmas with my mom and stepdad, Zack and my Christmas, Christmas with my dad, and Christmas with Zack’s parents and brothers.  It was crazy and although I love spending time with our families, I am really glad it is over.

Plus, I have been really sick all week.  I used to get sick all of the time, but for the past couple of years I haven’t been really sick at all (except for the occasional cold).  I think those years of not being sick caught up to me, though, because I haven’t left the couch in 3 days.  I went to the doctor and he said it seems to be the flu.  Thanks flu shot for failing me!  I’m finally starting to feel better and might actually leave my house tomorrow!  You realize what a big deal that is once you are home bound for a couple of days.

I should have posted these about a week ago, but hey, better late than never!

PS – these preacher cookies were so good that one of Zack’s coworkers actually paid me to make her another batch.  Yeah!

Preacher Cookies

– 2 c white sugar

– 1/2 c butter

– 1/2 c milk

– 4 T cocoa

– 1/2 c peanut butter

– 2 c quick oatmeal

– 1 t vanilla

– 1/4 t salt

Combine sugar, butter, milk, salt, and cocoa in saucepan.  Boil 1 minute.  Remove from heat and add vanilla, peanut butter, and oatmeal.  Drop by spoonfuls onto waxed paper or buttered cookie sheet.

M&M Cookies

– 1/2 c shortening

– 1/2 c brown sugar

– 1/4 c granulated sugar

– 1/4 t vanilla

– 1/4 t water

– 1 egg

– 1 c + 2 T flour

– 1/2 t soda

– 1/2 t salt

– 3/4 c M&Ms

Cream together shortening, brown sugar, and granulated sugar.  Add vanilla, water, and egg.  Mix flour, soda and salt then add to creamed mixture.  Stir in M&Ms.  Drop onto greased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for about 10 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies :)

  1. These look like New Year’s cookies to me 🙂 It’s always the right time for cookies. Those Preacher Cookie’s look yummy!!! I’m glad to hear that you are on the mend. I hope you enjoy ringing in the new year tonight. Happy New Year Jenn!!!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

