Applesauce Spice Bread

Sorry for my sporadic posting recently.  This was finals week and I was BEYOND busy.  I feel like I have spent zero time at home, but it is all finally over.  Hello Christmas break!  Time for baking, spending time with family, and relaxing!

I actually made this bread a while back, but haven’t had a chance to post about it.  As part of my fall baking, I made some homemade slow cooker applesauce.  We ate some of it, but the recipe made a lot, so I decided to use it for baking.

I shared this bread with my dad and other coworkers and they seemed to like it.  The spices make it such a great fall bread (but that doesn’t mean you have to wait until next fall to try it out!).

I LOOOVVE bread! 🙂

Applesauce Spice Bread

– 1 stick butter

– 1/2 c white sugar

– 3/4 c light brown sugar, packed

– 2 eggs at room temperature

– a mix of 1 cup applesauce with 1 1/2 t baking soda

– 2 c cake flour or all purpose flour

– 1/2 t salt

– 2 t ground cardamom or cinnamon

– 1/2 t grated nutmeg

– 1/2 t ground ginger

– 1/4 t ground cloves

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly butter a bread pan.  Line it with wax paper or parchment paper, then butter and flour it.

Cream the butter with the 2 sugars in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides in between additions, then stir in the applesauce mix.  Stir the dry ingredients together in a bowl, then add them to the butter mix and stir just enough to combine well.

Turn into the pan and bake in the top third of the oven until firm and a cake tester comes out clean, about 50 minutes.  Let cool in the pan 5 minutes, then carefully turn out onto a rack to finish cooling.

6 thoughts on “Applesauce Spice Bread

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

