Hearty Sweet Potato Braids

I love sweet potatoes and I love bread, so I knew this recipe was going to be a big hit.

I was right 🙂

This bread was sweet, but not overly so and had such a flaky, wonderful texture.  I usually try to limit my bread consumption for nutritional reasons, but I ate a huge hunk of this one.  It was so yummy and moist, too!

I gave my dad this loaf, because he really likes sweet potatoes, too.  Zack does not like them!  Isn’t that crazy?  They are so, so good.

Hearty Sweet Potato Braids

Yield: 2 loaves

– 1 package (1/4 oz) active dry yeast

– 1/4 c warm water (110-115 degrees)

– 1 1/2 cups mashed sweet potatoes, room temperature

– 1 cup warm milk (110-115 degrees)

-1/4 cup canola oil

– 3 tablespoons honey

– 1 cup all purpose flour

– 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

– 2 tsp salt

– 1 tsp dried thyme

– 2 3/4 – 3 1/4 cups whole wheat flour

– 1 tsp cold milk

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add the sweet potatoes, milk, oil, honey, AP flour, cornmeal, salt, thyme, and 2 cups whole wheat flour.  Beat until smooth.  Stir in enough remaining whole wheat flour to form a firm dough.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface.  Knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes.  Place in a bowl coated with cooking spray, turn once to coat top.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch dough down; divide into 6 equal portions.  Shape each into a 20-inch rope.  Place 3 ropes on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray and braid.  Pinch ends to seal and tuck under.  Repeat with remaining ropes.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 35 minutes.

Brush loaves with cold milk.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove to wire racks.

12 thoughts on “Hearty Sweet Potato Braids

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

