Birthday Cake

One of Zack and my friends is turning 21 this weekend.  Zack is going to celebrate with him, but I am staying home since I’m not yet 21 and can’t participate in the festivities.  Plus, this way they get to have a boys night out.  They will have a great time 🙂

Obviously, I used this as an excuse to bake a character cake.  (Not that I needed an excuse, but still…).

I really enjoyed making this cake and it really wasn’t very hard.  The only thing that I am not really 100% pleased with is the words on the cake, but it was my first time adding words to a cake, so I’m still pleased with how it turned out.

Of course it had to be a beer cake…he IS turning 21 after all.

I used a star tip and piped stars on all the sides.  It gave it an extra 3D effect and I really liked it.

Zack said that everyone really liked the cake!  Yay!

It’s a peanut butter cake with vanilla butter cream frosting.  Mm!

Peanut Butter Cake

Prep: 10 min.  Bake: 40 min.  Cool: 1 hr 10 min.  12 servings.

– 2 1/4 c AP flour

– 1 1/2 c sugar

– 1/2 c peanut butter

– 3 1/2 t baking powder

– 1 t salt

– 1 t vanilla

– 3 large eggs

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease bottoms and sides of pan with shortening, lightly flour.

Beat all ingredients together with electric mixer on low speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly.  Beat on high speed 3 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.  Pour into pan.

Bake rectangle pan 35-40 minutes, 9 inch rounds 25-30 minutes and 8-inch rounds 30-35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool in pan 10 minutes then remove to cool completely on a wire rack, about 1 hour.

 

17 thoughts on “Birthday Cake

  1. Peanut butter cake is something new to me but I already know I would love it. This cake is awesome! I love the beer stein and the stars on the side! You did an excellent job on this cake! Is there a piece leftover for me? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Birthday – 2 Cakes! | Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

