Mixed Vegetable Pilaf

One of my good friends is a vegetarian.  She really likes promoting vegetarianism, so she gave me three cookbooks of hers to look through.  I think it’s awesome when people can commit to vegetarianism (and even Veganism!) but I cannot.  I love my poultry too much.

Anyway, these cookbooks were really cool.  I got lots of healthy recipes out of them.  This was one of them.

The only thing that I would change about this is I would decrease some of the liquid.  I thought it would all cook down, but by the time it was finished, the rice was still kind of soupy.  It’s just a personal preference, but I like my rice more dry.

Look at all those yummy veggies!  Carrots, zucchini and mushrooms!  Mm, some of my favorites.

This dish makes a great side for virtually any meal.  You could even eat it as an entree for a light dinner.

Thanks, Demeter, for lending me your cookbooks 🙂

Mixed Vegetable Pilaf

– 2 T butter

– 1 c sliced, fresh mushrooms

– 1/4 t dried basil leaves, crushed

– 1 can (10 1/2 oz) chicken broth

– 3/4 c water

– 1 c regular rice, uncooked

– 1 small zucchini, halved lengthwise and sliced

– 1/2 c shredded carrot

In 10-in skillet over medium heat, in hot butter, cook mushrooms and basil 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add broth and water.  Heat to boiling.  Stir in rice.  Return to boiling.  Reduce heat to low.  Simmer, covered, 15 minutes.

Stir in zucchini and carrot.  Cover; simmer 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Let stand, covered 5 minutes before serving.  Makes about 5 cups or 6 servings.

7 thoughts on “Mixed Vegetable Pilaf

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

