Bacon, Egg, Cheese, and Toast Cups

I’ve had this recipe laying out for weeks, just waiting to get time so that I could make it for Zack.

We finally got to be home together for breakfast last weekend and I seized the opportunity to make him some of these cups!

I have such a thing for cute little packaged foods like this.  My muffin pan rarely gets used for actual muffins or cupcakes – it’s always food that you wouldn’t normally make in muffin form.

FYI – the yellow on top of the cups is cheese, not the yolk.  I didn’t look at the pictures and notice that it looked like a disgusting busted egg yolk until after Zack had eaten them.  Oh well, you get the point.

I really enjoyed making these, because I rarely get to make breakfast.  As I said before, Zack and I are barely ever home for breakfast together.  He works Tuesday-Saturday mornings from like 4 am until 10 am and I work/go to school Monday-Thursday all day.  Sunday is our one breakfast together morning and I savor it.

Enjoy this recipe, it’s fun and your family will thank you.

Bacon, Egg, Cheese, and Toast Cups

Makes 6 cups.

– 3 T butter, melted

– 8 slices whole wheat sandwich bread

– 6 slices bacon

– 6 large eggs

– coarse salt and ground pepper

– cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly butter 6 standard muffin cups.  With a rolling pin, flatten bread slices slightly and with a 4 1/4-inch cookie cutter, cut into 8 rounds.  Cut each round in half, then press 2 halves into each muffin cup, overlapping slightly and making sure bread comes up to the edge of the cup.  Use extra bread to patch any gaps.  Brush bread with remaining butter.

In a large skillet, cook bacon over medium, until almost crisp, 4 minutes, flipping once.  It will continue to cook in the oven.  Lay one bacon slice in each bread cup and crack an egg over each.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bake 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with cheese and put back in the oven for 5-10 more minutes or until egg whites are just set.  Run a small knife around cups to loosen toasts.  Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Bacon, Egg, Cheese, and Toast Cups

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

