Pumpkin Roll

For those of you that know me personally, this post is probably going to blow your mind.  For those of you that don’t, let me explain.  I’ve had a STRONG aversion to pumpkin food since first grade.  Why, you ask?  Well, in first grade, my class roasted pumpkin seeds.  The smell was so aversive to me that I threw up in class.  Yeah…embarrassing.

Since then, I have refused any and all pumpkin foods…never even tried any.  After being bombarded this fall season with pumpkin desserts, dishes, and everything in between, I decided that enough was enough and it was time to try making something pumpkin.

I searched around and came across a recipe for a pumpkin roll.  It sounded easy and I had most of the ingredients on hand, so it wouldn’t have been any real loss if I had to throw it away.

 

I put off making it for a week or so, because I was so worried that I was going to get sick.  Then one day, I decided to be brave and just do it.  THANK GOODNESS that I did.  As soon as that delicious smell came wafting through the house, I knew I had been crazy for missing out on this deliciousness.

I could hardly contain my excitement to try it long enough to let it cool.  Somehow I managed to wait for it to cool enough to add the filling (and then endured the long wait until after dinner…).  It is delicious.  It has such a great combo of spices that perfectly accent the pumpkin.  Plus don’t get me started on that amazing filling.  Even Zack really liked it and he was kind of apprehensive about pumpkin food, too.  Since then, I’ve made pumpkin pie fudge (equally delicious).

Sign me up for the pumpkin fan club, because this stuff is amazing!

Pumpkin Roll

Prep: 20 minutes.  Cooling: 60 minutes.  Cooking: 13 minutes.  Yields: 10 servings.

Cake:

– 1/4 cup powdered sugar (to sprinkle on towel)

– 3/4 cup all purpose flour

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 3 large eggs

– 1 c cup granulated sugar

– 2/3 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin

– 1 cup walnuts (optional)

FILLING:

– 1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, at room temperature

– 1 cup powdered sugar, sifted

– 6 tablespoons butter, softened

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– powdered sugar (optional, for decoration)

For cake:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease 15×10 inch jelly-roll pan; line with wax paper.  Grease and flour paper.  Sprinkle a thin, cotton kitchen towel with powdered sugar.  Be sure to put enough powdered sugar on the towel so that when rolling it up, the cake will not stick.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves and salt in a small bowl.  Beat eggs and granulated sugar in large mixer bowl until thick.  Beat in pumpkin.  Stir in flour mixture.  Spread evenly into prepared pan.  Sprinkle with nuts, if desired.

Bake for 13-15 minutes or until top of cake springs back when touched.  If using a dark colored pan, begin checking for doneness at 11 minutes.  Immediately loosen and turn cake onto prepared towel.  Carefully peel off waxed paper.

Roll up cake and towel together, starting with 10″ end.  Cool completely on wire rack.

For filling:

Beat cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, butter, and vanilla extract in small mixer bowl until smooth.  Carefully unroll cake.  Spread cream cheese mixture over cake.  Reroll cake.  Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least one hour.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving, if desired.

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Roll

  1. Good for you for trying it, I love the smell of anything pumpkin cooking. Of course I love the smell of lots of cooking, but I am partial to pumpkin and cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe, I am going to make it today.

  2. That is lovely. I’ve never tried a roll but this one looks delicious. Of course I’m partial to cream and pumpkin so I’m sort of an automatic fan! Thanks for the recipe and I love the spices!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

