Chocolate Banana Muffins

Is anyone else out there as obsessed with bananas as I am?  I have to eat one everyday.  It’s a compulsion.  I should be glad that I am addicted to something healthy for me instead of something horrible like cigarettes, though.

When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it out.  Bananas + chocolate chips FOR BREAKFAST?!  I will do whatever I can to sneak dessert-type foods into regular meals.  Hehe.

Everyone that tasted these really liked them, so I definitely recommend trying them out (especially if you’re a banana addict like me!).

They were not very time consuming and make a great on-the-go breakfast.

The recipe says it makes two dozen, but I didn’t get quite get 2 dozen out of it – I only got 21.  What an odd number.  I never quite yield exactly what a recipe calls for, though.

Chocolate Banana Muffins

Prep: 25 minutes.  Bake: 15 minutes + cooling.  Yield: 2 dozen.

– 1/2 cup butter, softened

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1/2 cup packed brown sugar

– 2 eggs

– 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 large)

– 3 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

– 1 cup (6 oz) semisweet chocolate chips

In a bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Beat in eggs, banana, and vanilla.  Combine flour and baking soda and add to creamed mixture just until combined.  Stir in the walnuts and chocolate chips.  Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups half full.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire rack to cool completely.

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Muffins

    • I also have way too many books, so I can relate to that too. We got a new bookshelf when we moved in July and I’ve already filled it up. Oops. Yay for healthy obsessions 🙂

  1. Love, love, love chocolate banana muffins! I haven’t had any in years, but they remind me of in highschool when I used to make them to share with my sports teams! Yours look delicious!

    • I went through the chocolate obsession phase too. I would melt chocolate chips in the microwave in a bowl and eat the melted chocolate by itself with a spoon. No wonder I had to lose 60 pounds!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

