No-Knead Whole Wheat Rolls

These rolls completely have my heart.  They are sweet, cute, buttery, and best of all, EASY.  You just mix everything up, let it rise, slap it into a muffin pan, let it rise again, slap some butter on top, bake and eat!  This may seem like a bunch of steps, but believe me, for bread, this is easy peasy.

I made these for a dinner party (I use the word party loosely here – it was just Zack, his brother and his girlfriend, a couple of random relatives, and me having dinner).  Calling it a party makes it sound so much more festive, though 🙂

These would be a great accompaniment to any chicken, beef, or maybe even pork dish.  With whole wheat rolls, though, how can you go wrong?

In the picture below, the rolls look two-toned.  This is because I used substantially less butter to put on top of them then required.  It made their tops look not-so-pretty, but it did not affect their taste.  Plus, my arteries thanked me.

Aren’t they just totally adorable?

No-Knead Whole Wheat Rolls

Yield: 1 dozen

– 1 package (1/4 oz) active dry yeast

– 1 1/4 cups warm water (110-115 degrees)

– 2 cups all purpose flour

– 1 cup whole wheat flour

– 1 tablespoon butter, softened

– 1 tablespoon honey

– 1 tablespoon molasses

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Beat on medium speed for 3 minutes (dough will be sticky).  Do not knead.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Stir dough down, set aside 1/4 cup butter.  Fill muffin cups coated with nonstick spray, half full.  Top each with 1 teaspoon butter (I used a lot less).  Cover and let rise until doubled, about 8-12 minutes.

Bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until golden-brown.  Cool for 1 minute before removing from pan to wire rack.

25 thoughts on “No-Knead Whole Wheat Rolls

  1. This is an easy recipe for rolls! Believe me when I say I it is hard to get interested or have the time for the 52 steps it takes to make croissants. I have saved the recipe for these rustic looking rolls -thanks for sharing. Yum!

    • I have a recipe for croissants that I’m saving for a snow day. I’m excited to try them out. Until then, I will stick to easy bread like this! Let me know how they work out for you: )

  2. Am definitely going to give these a try. The only reason I make bread as much as I do now is because of that great invention—the dough hook. These sound delicious.

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

