Tequila-Glazed Grilled Chicken

Today is a special day.  It’s Baking Jenn’s Blog’s one month birthday! Commence Happy Birthday songs!  I am really excited to have been blogging for a month and sharing my recipe (and just overall love of food) with so many wonderful people.

I had no idea how big of a response that I would receive! You all have been so kind to me and I’m really happy I decided to give this a try.  So thanks to you all!

To celebrate, I bought the domain for my blog.  I’m http://www.bakingjenn.com now! I am so excited about it!  I feel so much more official now.

Please continue to comment and leave feedback on my posts.  I really enjoy hearing from everyone.  Also, if anyone tries any of the recipes featured on my blog, please let me know.  I’d love to know how they turned out for you (as well as share a link to your blog from my own).

To share my excitement with you all, I would like to share a recipe for my favorite type of grilled chicken.  Zack and I made this over the weekend for some of his family and it went over GREAT.  Everyone agreed it was the best grilled chicken they’ve had.

This is really saying a lot, because these guys are die-hard burger fans and usually disregard chicken entirely.

If you don’t like tequila, (I definitely don’t) don’t be turned off from this recipe.  The flavor of the tequila blends in with the other flavors and it is not even detectable.

The picture does not really do this chicken justice.  It’s WONDERFUL.

Also, a whole chicken breast only has 181 calories.  You really can’t beat this chicken.

Tequila-Glazed Grilled Chicken

Yield: 8 servings.

– 2 teaspoon ground cumin

– 1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

– 3/4 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon Chipotle chile powder

– 8 4-ounce chicken breasts

– 3/4 cup pineapple juice

– 1/3 cup tequila

– 1/4 cup honey

– 2 teaspoon corn starch

– 2 teaspoon water

– 2 teaspoon grated lime rind

– 3 tablespoon fresh lime juice

– 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper, or more to taste

Preheat grill to medium-high heat.

Combine the first 4 ingredients in a small bowl; rub evenly over chicken.

Bring the pineapple juice, tequila, and honey to a boil in a small saucepan.  Cook until reduced to 3/4 cup (about 10 minutes).  Combine cornstarch and 2 teaspoons water in a small bowl, and stir well.  Add cornstarch mixture to juice mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk.  Bring to a boil, and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and stir in lime rind, lime juice, and red pepper.

Place grill on grill rack coated with cooking spray.  Cover and grill for 5 minutes on each side, basting occasionally.

36 thoughts on “Tequila-Glazed Grilled Chicken

  1. Happy Bloggy birthday! The chicken looks amazing and congrats on the domain name….I was blogging for about 3 months when I did mine. Don’t you feel so OFFICIAL now?

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

