Fettuccine Alfredo…a little healthier


Italian food has my heart.  I could eat some form of it everyday.  Fettuccine Alfredo is yummy, but I’m more of a tomato sauce type of gal.  However, to switch things up, I decided to make this.

Zack loves Italian food, too, but he does not prefer noodle dishes.  Surprisingly, he liked this one.

By using evaporated fat free milk instead of whipping cream and reduced-fat Parmesan cheese, you cut the fat of regular Fettuccine Alfredo in half.  That sounded perfect to me.

I found this recipe in a Betty Crocker cookbook, so I knew it had to be good.  I think Betty Crocker is completely fool-proof.  When I get on a big baking/cooking spree, my mom calls me Betty.

Like I said, this recipe was good, but I think I will stick to tomato sauce Italian dishes for a while.  This will definitely be my go-to recipe when I am looking for a change, though.

It was really quick and easy.

I served it with some really simple Parmesan Knots (as can be seen in the picture below), but I will feature those in a different post.

Fettuccine Alfredo

Prep: 10 minutes.  Total time: 25 minutes.  6 servings.

– 8 oz uncooked fettuccine

– 1/2 cup butter

– 1/2 cup evaporated fat free milk

– 3/4 cup freshly shredded reduced-fat Parmesan cheese

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/8 teaspoon black pepper

– chopped fresh parsley

In a large sauce pot, cook fettuccine as directed on package.

While fettuccine is cooking, in a 2-quart saucepan, heat butter and milk over low heat, stirring constantly, until butter is melted.  Stir in cheese, salt and pepper.

Drain fettuccine; return to sauce pot.  Pour sauce over warm fettuccine; stir until fettuccine is well coated.  Sprinkle with parsley.

17 thoughts on “Fettuccine Alfredo…a little healthier

  1. i like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

  2. Pingback: Easy Parmesan Knots | Baking Jenn

  3. Love the idea of FF evaporated milk & thank you for noting that you used shredded parmesan- I didn’t know to use it the first time I made alfredo…and let me tell you, the grated stuff adds a not-so-welcome grainy texture to the dish!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

