Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole


One of my favorite things about fall is definitely sweet potato dishes.  Up until last year, I was avidly against sweet potatoes.  I thought they were weirdly colored and refused to even try them.

However, one wonderful day I tried a sweet potato fry and was instantly hooked.  Those things are delicious.  Since then, I’ve tried various sweet potato dishes and have not found one that I didn’t love.  I still have a strong aversion to pumpkin food, but I am trying to be brave and try a pumpkin dish.  Maybe one day.

The recipe says that it makes 10 servings, but I find that very hard to believe, so keep that in mind.

I had a handful of large marshmallows left over from a pie I made a while back, so I stuck those on there, too.  It gave the dish a cool 3D effect.

This dish really couldn’t be any easier to make, either.  Saying it took 10 minutes to prep is a stretching it.  Maybe 5 minutes.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

Prep: 10 minutes.  Total: 30 minutes.  Makes 10 servings, 1/2 cup each.

– 3 cans (15 oz each) sweet potatoes, drained

– 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted

– 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

– 1 tsp. ground ginger

– 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

– 3 cups mini marshmallows

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat potatoes, butter, and spices with mixer until well blended.

Spoon into lightly greased 1 qt casserole dish; top with marshmallows.

Bake 15-20 minutes or until potato mixture is heated through and marshmallows are lightly browned.

9 thoughts on “Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

  1. I have that pan and that’s exactly what our whipped sweet potato casserole looks like…well, except we use fresh sweet potatoes (currently abundant at the Farmer’s Market locally) and all miniature marshmallows 🙂 I haven’t made these in months…this has prodded me to get it on the menu! It’s great with a chicken dinner.
    Thanks for posting!

  2. Pingback: Simply-A-Must Crescent Rolls | Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

