Grilled Citrus Chicken

As much as I hate to admit it, I think grilling season is drawing to a close.  The nip of the fall air is becoming more pronounced.  Last weekend Zack, Dad, and myself took advantage of the remainder of the warm-ish air and not only grilled out, but ate outside.

This chicken was pretty good, but not really good enough to have again.  I think I might have marinaded it for too long, because the citrus taste was so overpowering that you couldn’t even taste chicken.

The recipe called for the chicken to be marinaded for 2 hours, but I did it overnight.  I guess they specified the time in the recipe for a reason.  Oh well.

If I kept every recipe I tried, I would quickly run out of room in the binders that I keep them in! 🙂

Grilled Citrus Chicken

Prep: 10 minutes.  Marinade: 2 hours.  Grill: 20 minutes.  6 servings.

– 1/2 cup frozen (thawed) orange juice concentrate

– 1/4 cup vegetable oil

– 1/4 cup lemon juice

– 2 tablespoons grated orange peel

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 clove garlic, finely chopped

– 6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves

Mix all ingredients except chicken.

Place chicken in a Ziploc bag.  Pour marinade over chicken; turn chicken to coat with marinade.  Seal bag and refrigerate at least 2 hours, but no longer than 24 hours, turning chicken occasionally.

Heat grill for direct heat.

Remove chicken from marinade, reserving marinade.  Cover and grill chicken 4-6 inches from medium heat 15-20 minutes, turning and brushing with marinade occasionally, until juice of chicken is no longer pink when centers of thickest parts are cut.

Heat remaining marinade to boiling; boil and stir 1 minute.  Serve with chicken.

17 thoughts on “Grilled Citrus Chicken

  1. Sounds good to me! We’ve been known to grill all year round, even when there’s snow completely covering our back deck, and this is definitely a recipe I’ll look forward to trying out =)

  2. I’m sorry that the citrus was so overpowering. Maybe try it once more and marinate it for under 2 hours? The marinade itself looks very good. (We never cover our grill, even if it snows. It’s always grilling season.) 🙂

  3. Mmmmmm this sounds great. I love to dress up boring chicken too! Yeah, I bet you marinaded too long and that’s why it is overwhelmingly citrusy (is that a word? lol). You might also want to add some salt to your marinade to dial back the citrus taste a bit. I bet this would be fantastic with ginger too!

  4. Pingback: Simply-A-Must Crescent Rolls | Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

