Slow Cooker Shrimp and Chicken Jambalaya

New Orleans was my favorite place for years (it was only recently beat out my Seattle).  I’ve been there 3 times and I plan to go more.  It’s kind of strange how much I like New Orleans, because I’m not into drinking.  I just really like the Cajun people and their lifestyle.  As a general rule, they are very friendly (and have such a wonderful accent!).  I also really like the architecture in New Orleans, especially in the French Quarter.

As a fan of spicy food, New Orleans is the perfect place for me.  They love spicing up everything and the Cajun-style of cooking is so great! I could go there and do nothing but eat.  I decided to bring home a little bit of that cooking style and try my hand at some Jambalaya.  Turns out I’m not half bad at it 😉

Since I’m feeling so nostalgic, I am going to include some pictures from the last time I went to New Orleans, back in 2009.

Mmm, mmm, good.

Crayfish! My dad sampled some of these, but neither Zack or I were brave enough to.  I’ve heard they’re actually really good, though.

Zack and I with the Mississippi River in the background.  We were there in November and it was freezing!

Here’s Zack holding a baby alligator on a swamp tour that we went on.

I do not look too happy to be holding an alligator! Oh, and that’s my dad in the background.  I look a lot like him.

Okay, back to the good stuff.  Here’s the Jambalaya in the slow cooker before the shrimp and rice have been added.  The colors are so pretty!

Slow Cooker Chicken and Shrimp Jambalaya

Yield: 6 servings

– 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces

– 3 celery stalks, chopped

– 1 green bell pepper, chopped

– 2 onions, chopped

– 3 garlic cloves, minced

– 1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes, undrained

– 1 tablespoon sugar

– 1/2 tsp dried oregano leaves

– 1/2 tsp dried basil leaves

– 1/2 cup instant brown rice, uncooked

– 1 lb frozen cooked shrimp, thawed

Combine all ingredients except rice and shrimp in a slow cooker.  Cover and cook on low for 7-9 hours, until chicken is cooked through.  Stir in rice, cover and cook for 15 minutes or until tender.  Add shrimp, stir, cover and cook an additional 3-5 minutes, or until heated through.

Yummy!

8 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Shrimp and Chicken Jambalaya

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

