Buffalo Chicken Calzone

I was so excited when I found this recipe! I thought, “amazing buffalo flavors baked into a crispy pizza crust?! Count me in!”

However, this was a one time thing.  It was good, but not amazing like I expected.  I’m glad I tried it though and recommend that everyone should try it, because you all might like it more than Zack and I did!

Rethinking it now, maybe it would have been better to make a chicken and cheese calzone and then serve it with buffalo sauce for dipping.  I’m not sure.  If anyone has tried it that way, let me know 🙂 Oh, and if you wish to improve your cooking, like I do, you can try taking online classes cooking as well!

Buffalo Chicken Calzone

– 1/2 a batch of pizza dough (I used fresh whole-wheat dough – you can get it in a bag in the refrigerated section of Wal-Mart).

– 2 cups cubed chicken breast

– 1/2 cup + buffalo chicken sauce (any variety is fine – use your favorite!)

– 1/4 cup blue cheese dressing OR ranch dressing

– 1 cup mozzarella cheese

– 1 cup cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Heat a large skillet over medium to medium high heat. Cook chicken and 2 tbsp buffalo sauce. Stir well, cooking chicken for 5-10 minutes or until fully cooked. Transfer to a clean bowl. Add an additional 1/4C buffalo sauce to chicken. Stir to coat. Set aside.

Grease a baking sheet.  Divide dough into as many portions as you’d like. I made two big calzones. Stretch dough into a large circle or rectangle. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Let gravity help as well as pushing on the dough gently while resting on your prepared baking sheet. Flip and continue process until you are satisfied with the size.

Coat one half of the dough with either the blue cheese dressing on the ranch dressing – not quite to the end.  Cover it with the cooked buffalo chicken (1/2 of it if you’re making two).

Sprinkle with about a handful of the two cheeses combined (leave some for the other one!).

Fold the dough over and pinch the edges to seal.  Place more cheese on top.

Repeat the process for the second calzone.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until cheese and dough are slightly brown.

Tip: if you don’t want to bake the ranch/blue cheese directly into the calzone, you could always use it as a dipping sauce.

8 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Calzone

  1. This does sound like it would be pretty tasty, nice mix of flavors in there. Calzones are something that I find hard to resist because it is so closely related to pizza I guess. Thanks for sharing this one.

  2. Hey, you never know until you try. I would have jumped at the title of this recipe too. The combination should have worked. What about using just bleu cheese crumbles in the calzone instead of the dressing?

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

