Whole Wheat Pita Meat Lover’s Pizza

Zack and I, like nearly every other Americans, LOVE pizza.  I’m always looking for new ways to make it, because it is that good.  I really liked the idea for this recipe, because 1) they are cute, individual pizzas and 2) they are on whole wheat pitas which are healthier (and crunchier!) than just regular pizza crusts.

My favorite kind of pizza is either plain cheese or one with lots of veggies, but I decided to give this one a try, because Zack loves meat pizza.  As you can see, even the loads of turkey in the sauce wasn’t enough for him – he still added pepperonis to his!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this or not before, but I do not eat beef or pork.  That’s why all of my recipes use ground turkey instead of ground beef.

Here’s my delicious pita pizza.  I actually ate two of them.  They were that good.  Next time I make these, I think I will add some oregano to them along with the thyme.  That would really add to the flavor.

Here’s Zack’s extra meat pizza.  Yummy if you like pepperonis!

Whole Wheat Pita Meat Lover’s Pizza

Prep: 10 minutes.  Cook: 50 minutes.  Yield: 8 6-inch pizzas.

– 2 tsp. canola oil

– 1 onion, chopped

– 2 cloves garlic, minced

– 3 large tomatoes (about 1 1/2 lbs. total) cored and chopped

– 1 tbsp. tomato paste

– 1 jar tomato sauce (~22 oz)

– 1 lb. ground turkey

– 2 tsp. chopped thyme

– salt and pepper

– 4 6-inch whole wheat pitas

– 1 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella

– 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, optional

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line 2 large baking sheets with foil.  Mist foil with cooking spray.

Warm oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and saute until tender, 3-5 minutes.  Add garlic and saute one minute longer.  Stir in tomatoes and tomato paste.  Cook, stirring often, until thick and pulpy – about 10 minutes.  Add turkey and cook, stirring often and breaking up large clumps with a spoon, until most of the liquid has evaporated – 10 to 15 minutes.  Stir in thyme and season with salt and pepper.

Using a serrated knife, cut each pita in half horizontally.  Place rounds, cut side up, on baking sheets.  Divide turkey mixture among rounds (~ 1/2 cup each).  Divide jar of sauce among the rounds and sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan, if desired.  Bake until cheese has melted and pizzas are lightly browned, about 12-15 minutes.

I highly recommend trying these!

 

6 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pita Meat Lover’s Pizza

  1. These look great! I’ll try this! Love that you used ground turkey — we do not eat pork and rarely eat beef as well. Have you tried turkey pepperoni? I always see it at my grocery store, and am curious about trying it.

    • Let me know how they turn out! My boyfriend has tried the turkey pepperoni, but says it is not a perfect substitute for the real thing. I used to eat the turkey kind and liked it – I guess it’s all about personal taste. You should try it!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

