Nutty Popcorn Snack Mix with Candy Corn

This year I am very into the fall season.  I’ve been really looking forward to October so I can start making Halloween and fall themed goodies.  I made this snack mix for Zack’s company picnic.  Everyone seemed to really enjoy it.

It made our house smell like the holidays.  I loved it!

The recipe says to use a candy thermometer, but I don’t have one so I used the water method.  Read how to tell candy is done here: How to Tell When Hard Candy is Done.

Be on the lookout for lots more holiday/fall themed goodies throughout the next few months, because I have lots of recipes 🙂

Nutty Popcorn Snack Mix

– 12 cups popped popcorn

– 5 cups mini pretzel twists

– 2 cups brown sugar, packed

– 1 cup butter

– 1/2 cup dark corn syrup

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon soda

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 1 cup dry roasted peanuts

– 2 cups candy corn

Combine pretzels and popcorn in a large roasting pan; set aside.  Combine brown sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt in a heavy medium saucepan.  Cook over medium heat 12-14 minutes, stirring occasionally until mix comes to a full boil.

Continue cooking and stirring 4-6 minutes until mix reaches soft-ball stage, or 234-243 degrees on a candy thermometer.

Remove from heat; stir in baking soda and vanilla.  Pour over popcorn and pretzels in pan; add peanuts.  Stir until mix is coated well.  Bake at 200 degrees for 20 minutes; stir and add candy corn.

Bake an additional 20 minutes.  Immediately spoon onto wax paper; let cool completely and break into pieces.  Store in an airtight container.

Yay for fall goodies 🙂

6 thoughts on “Nutty Popcorn Snack Mix with Candy Corn

  1. Sweet and salty together- yum. I so miss candy corns and now living in Hong Kong I know I will not see them again for a very long time. Any alternatives you can think of for the candy corn?

    • Thanks for your feedback! You could really use any type of candy. I’m not sure what kind of candy is in Hong Kong, so I can’t really list examples, but virtually anything would work. Even chocolates, but I wouldn’t put those into the mix but maybe 5-10 minutes before baking is done, so they don’t melt.
      ~ Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

