Old Fashioned Potato Salad

Potato Salad is the ultimate cook out food.  I don’t think I’ve ever been to a cook out that didn’t serve this side dish.  It’s a southern staple.

However, I had never made it before.  Cook outs are a summer thing, so I knew that the one Zack was having at work would be my last chance to make some this year.

I found a recipe that seemed easy enough and decided to try it out.

Every bit of it got eaten at Zack’s cook out.  People were raving about how good it was.  I don’t like potato salad, so it didn’t appeal to me, but that’s besides the point.

I like that you slice an egg and sprinkle with paprika for the top.  Makes it look decorative and fancy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

Prep: 15 minutes.  Total: 1 hour 5 minutes, including cooling.  Makes 12 servings.

– 2 lb red potatoes (5-6 large) peeled, cubed

– 1 tsp. salt

– 3 hard boiled eggs, divided

– 1/2 cup mayonnaise

– 2 ribs celery, finely chopped (about 1/2 cup)

– 1 small onion, finely chopped (about 1/2 cup)

– 3 tbsp. yellow mustard

– 3 tbsp. sweet pickle relish

– 1 tbsp. sugar

– dash paprika

Cook potatoes in boiling salted water in large saucepan 10-15 minutes or just until tender; drain.  Cool.

Meanwhile, chop 2 eggs; slice remaining egg.  Mix mayonnaise, celery, onions, chopped eggs, relish, mustard, and sugar in a large bowl.  Gently stir in potatoes.

Top with sliced egg and paprika.

2 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Potato Salad

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

