Better-Than-Grandma’s Apple Pie

I feel like I abandoned everyone yesterday by not posting! I’m sorry.  I was extremely busy all day long baking goodies, because Zack is having a cookout at work today and I made some things for him to take.  Then, last night I went to the racetrack with my dad (long story short – one of my relatives bought a racecar…yeah, I really am THAT southern).

Anyway, the first thing I made yesterday were two BEAUTIFUL apple pies.  Normally when I make food it tastes good, but it never turns out quite as pretty as recipe pictures.  Well, here is the exception.  When Zack got home from work and saw them, he said, “wow, they look you know…good.”  It was really sweet.

 

I made one deep dish apple pie for Zack to take to work.

I made another regular size pie for us to keep at home and eat (which we have and it’s delicious).

 

Here’s the deep dish pie after using the egg wash on it.  Look at those pretty fluted edges!

The regular size pie after the egg wash.  This one really turned out to be the prettiest.

Yes, I cheated.  I used store-bought pie crusts.  Normally I would have made everything from scratch, but Mom gave me these pie crusts and I didn’t want them to go bad.

 

PS – don’t tell my Grandma that I said these pies are better than hers – it’s just a figure of speech 😉

 

Better-Than-Grandma’s Apple Pie

Yield: 2 9-inch pies

– 4 Pillsbury Pie Crusts

– 12 cups thinly sliced, peeled tart apples

– 1 1/2 cups sugar

– 2 tbsp. cornstarch

– 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

– 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

– 1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Toss apples with sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a large bowl.  Set aside.  Place one pie crust into each pie plate.  Trim any dough hanging over the edge of the pie plate with sharp knife or kitchen shears, save trimmings.

Fill both with apple mixture; set aside.  Trim top crust about 1/2 inch beyond edge of pie plate.  Fold edge of top crust under edge of bottom crust; pinch edges together to form a ridge.  Flute edges (using two fingers, press a V-shape into the crust edge.  This will look like a wave or ruffle design when finished).  Cut several slits near center of pie to allow steam to escape.

Roll out trimmings and cut out shapes for the top of your pies using cookie cutters.  Place them decoratively on your pies.

Brush beaten egg on top of pies.  This will give it a golden brown look.

Bake 45-50 minutes (Cover pie crust edges with aluminum foil after 20 minutes) or until juices form bubbles that burst slowly.  Cool.

 

8 thoughts on “Better-Than-Grandma’s Apple Pie

  1. Looks beautiful. I am not very good with homemade pie crusts but I can bake good bread. Your Great Grandmaw Bowen made a cake that she called “Family Pie”. It was about 4-5 layers high with cooked apples between each layer. The actual cake part was made out of something like pone bread, each cut in half length wise. To eat it you put a helping in a bowl and poured milk over it. I can’t find a recipe for it any where and I have been looking for years. Her ancestry was German so I expect it is something her mother may have taught her to make without a recipe.

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

