Basic Southern Cornbread

What kind of Southern gal would I be if I didn’t serve my boys cornbread?

Last night, my dad came over for dinner before we went to the races (see Better-Than-Grandma’s Apple Pie).  Not only did I make cornbread, but I made it in a cast-iron skillet! You can’t get much more authentic than that.

It was really easy to make and Dad and Zack both seemed to like it.

Basic Southern Cornbread

Yield: 8 servings

– 2 cups plain cornmeal

– 1 T baking powder

– 1 t salt

– 1 3/4 cups buttermilk

– 1 egg, beaten

– 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Place a greased 9-inch cast iron skillet in the oven to heat while the desired temperature is reached.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the cornmeal, baking powder, and salt.  Make a well in the center and add the buttermilk, egg, and oil, blending well.  Pour the batter into the preheated skilled.

Bake 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Transfer to a serving plate (or serve right from the skillet!).  Cut into slices and serve warm.


Cornbread is another one of those cold-fall-day foods.  Today was pretty chili and this just makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside.

2 thoughts on “Basic Southern Cornbread

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

