Whole Wheat Animal Cracker Cookies

Along with the blueberry scones, I also made whole wheat animal cracker cookies for our vacation snack bag.  I’ll admit, they aren’t as good as regular, “unhealthy” cookies, but they’re nice for a change.  Plus, each cookie is only 25 calories!

I made elephants, dogs, mice, cats, and cows! The cutest ones were the mice.  The picture really does not do them justice.

The recipe said you should yield 6 dozen.  My yield was only about 2 dozen.  Maybe mine were too thick, or I used different sized cookie cutters.  I’m not sure.

Honestly, I probably won’t make these again, but they were good to try once.  I figured I would share just for that simple fact.

Whole Wheat Animal Cracker Cookies

– 1/2 cup shortening

– 1/3 cup milk

– 3 tablespoons honey

– 1 cup  whole wheat flour

– 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, beat shortening, milk and honey with electric mixer on medium speed until blended. Stir in remaining ingredients until well blended.

Divide dough in half. On lightly floured cloth-covered surface, roll half of dough at a time 1/8 inch thick. Cut with about 1 1/4- to 1 1/2-inch animal-shaped cookie cutters. On ungreased cookie sheet, place cutouts about 1 inch apart.

Bake 6 to 8 minutes or until edges are very light brown. Remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

