Muffin Pan Tacos

I LOVE TACOS.  Let me rephrase, actually.  I love Mexican foods (that are made at home – I’m not big on Mexican restaurants).  I also don’t like enchiladas but other than that… haha.  Zack and I usually just get the taco kits from the grocery store.  You know, the kind that you just add a pound of meat to?  We always use ground turkey.

I was looking forward to trying this recipe, though.  I mean, who wouldn’t tacos shaped like muffins?  They took longer to make than regular tacos, because you have to cook your own onion and jalapeno, but the end result is totally worth it.

Muffin Pan Tacos

– 1 lb ground turkey

– ½ onion, diced

– 1 large jalapeno, diced

– ¾ cup water

– pack of taco seasoning mix

– 12 flour tortillas

– 2 cups shredded cheese

– taco sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook the ground turkey thoroughly, drain and return to clean skillet.

In a separate skillet, saute the diced onion and jalapeno and add it to the turkey.

Blend in the seasoning and toss to coat.

Heat the mixture on high and add water; reduce and let simmer on medium/low for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking.

Cut 4 inch diameter circles out of the flour tortillas. A standard margarita glass is about the right size for measuring and a pizza cutter gets the job done quickly.

Wrap tortilla circles (3-4 at a time) in a wet paper towel and microwave for 30 seconds to soften.

Mold circles into lightly greased muffin tin.

Add layer of shredded cheese in bottom, then ~ 2 tablespoons meat and top with more cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes and add your favorite toppings (ie lettuce, tomatoes, more cheese, etc.)

One thought on “Muffin Pan Tacos

  1. I absolutely love making this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it! I have told so many people about it, and they too love the recipe. I look forward to checking out more of your recipes!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

