Hamburger Cupcakes

Last year, Zack and I lived in an apartment in Radford, Virginia.  He worked nights which would leave me for hours of nothing to do except play with food!  I saw online one day that someone had made some of these and I thought they were completely adorable and I knew I had to try them.

 

You’ll need:

– a box of yellow cake mix (plus ingredients to make the cupcakes)

– a box of chocolate cake mix (plus ingredients to make the cupcakes)

– yellow, red, and green decorating icings

– sesame seeds (optional)

Bake the yellow cupcakes and chocolate cupcakes as instructed on the box.  Instead of chocolate cupcakes, you could also use brownies.  After baking, allow to cool completely on wire racks.

Next, cut the tops off of all the chocolate cupcakes (or if you’re using brownies, cut to roughly the same size as the bottom of the yellow cupcakes).  Reserve all the chocolate tops, and what you do with the bottoms is up to you.  Maybe make some cake balls with them?

After that, cut each yellow cupcake in half.  Spread some yellow icing on the tops of the bottom part of the yellow cupcakes.  Then place the chocolate cupcake top (or brownie) on the yellow icing.  Make sure some yellow icing is visible for the mustard.

On top of the chocolate part, drizzle yellow and green icing.  Now you have your ketchup and relish (or pickles/lettuce if you want to pretend!).  Stick the top of the yellow cupcake on top of that, once again making sure they’re visible.  If you are using sesame seeds, sprinkle them on top of the cupcakes.  I think they look cute enough without them.

Unfortuantely, I quickly got bored with making the hamburger cupcakes, so I decorated some more differently.  I surprised Zack with this plate of them when he got home from work.  I think most of them got thrown away, though, because there’s not nearly enough icing on them! I love icing and need it in copious amounts on cake! 😉

 

 

If anyone has tried out the hamburger cupcakes (or making cupcakes into any other type of food), I’d love to see it!

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

