Blueberry Scones

These little bits of deliciousness are blueberry scones.  My dad LOVES scones, so went Zack, him, and I went on vacation in August, I made a snack bag to take with us including these scones.  I’d never made scones before, and the shape they turned out didn’t really please me, but taste obviously affected by the appearance.  I’m actually planning on making some apple scones with the apples I got at the apple orchard (see Happy Fall entry), so hopefully they will be cuter.

The recipe called for any type of fresh fruit, but I used blueberries because a) blueberries were in season and b) they are delicious baked into anything.

Fruit Scones

– 1 cup sour cream

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 4 cups all purpose flour

– 1 cup sugar

– 2 tsp baking powder

– ¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

– 1 tsp salt

1 cup butter

– 1 egg

– 1 cup fresh fruit of choice (blueberries, cherries, raisins, etc.)

In a small bowl, blend the sour cream and baking soda and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a large baking sheet.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, cream of tartar and salt. Cut in the butter. Stir the sour cream mixture and egg into the flour mixture until just moistened. Mix in the fruit.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead them briefly. Roll or pat dough into a ¾ inch thick round. Cut into 12 wedges and place them 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake 12-15 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown on the bottom.

PS – today Zack, my mom, and my stepdad went to a street festival in Bedford, VA.  They were having a silent auction and I got this glass punch bowl and 23 cups (yeah, a weird number) for only $6!  I was so excited!  Oh, and there’s Zack and I, too!

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Scones

  1. I just wanted to comment and say that I really enjoyed reading your blog post here. It was very informative and I also digg the way you write! Keep it up and I’ll be back to read more in the future

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Chip Scones | Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

