Happy Fall!

Today is the first day of fall! Normally I dread the fall, because it means temperatures are dropping, but this year I’m really looking forward to it.  I’ve had the house decorated for fall for weeks.  We have fall wreaths on the doors and decorations throughout the house.

At the beginning of the week, we did our fall display.  I think it turned out very cute. We had a female scarecrow on the other side of the hay bale but her head broke off.  Oops.  We’re supposed to be sent another one.

To celebrate the beginning of fall effectively, Mom and I went to an orchard in Bedford, VA called Johnson’s Orchards to get some apples.  We had gotten a Groupon a few weeks back that let us get 10 pounds of apples for only $5!

They had tons of huge bins full of apples that we could pick from.

They also let you sample the apples before you bought them.  As you can see, Mom took advantage of this 🙂 I did, too.  They were delicious.

These are the kind of apples we ended up getting.  They’re golden delicious apples.  I already have my recipes all lined up for what I am going to make with them.

On the way back to Mom’s house, all the apples spilled.  Oops.  Mom felt this needed to be photographed.

Here I am with my bag of apples.  The smile shows how excited I am to bake!

Mom’s pretty fall backyard.
I hope everyone has had a great first day of fall.  Stay tuned for lots of apple goodies in the next couple of days! I cannot wait to start baking them 🙂

7 thoughts on “Happy Fall!

  1. Pingback: Caramel Apple Tart « Baking Jenn

Leave some feedback! :) I thoroughly appreciate any comments left for me and I read each and every one. Thank you!

